The Space 2 Be
Email Us

Online Yoga, Pilates
& Meditation

Introduction to the Seven Chakras Part 3 – Yoga Poses

chakras part 3

This is part 3 of the Chakra special reads! Here is part 1 and part 2 if you missed them!

Over the previous two Chakra articles, we have learned the location of the seven major chakras and how they relate to your wellbeing, spirituality and personal growth. In this read, we will relate each chakra to a specific yoga pose.

Yoga is highly beneficial to help re-balance or align your chakras. Yoga encourages flow and fluidity; this is something that boosts the energy and connection between the chakras. Practicing yoga postures or “Asana” enhances your subtle body, strengthens your physical body, and serves as a gateway between the two for you as a person.

Here are 7 yoga postures that connect to each Chakra. If you are confident within your yoga practice, these may be straightforward for you to practice yourself as well as in a class or one-on-one environment. If you feel uncertain about any pose it is always best to get advice from a qualified and experienced yoga teacher/professional. Of course, if you have any injuries or conditions you should ensure you take the right steps to stay safe and be well within your practice!

Every yoga posture will focus on breathing, balancing and alignment. This article goes into detail on how to execute each yoga posture that is mentioned below. And there are naturally a number of asana’s and asana sequences that help to enhance your chakras- don’t be afraid to explore them!

Root Chakra

The related yoga posture for root chakra is the mountain pose. The mountain pose aims to encourage grounding. The root chakra is the 1st chakra located at the base of the spine and it is perhaps the most important one to work with in the first instance (part 2 of these articles explains why!). Mountain pose encourages breathing, spinal alignment, and grounding- the fact that it is called Mountain pose is no accident! Think of how tall, firm and strong a mountain is!

Sacral Chakra

Energetically, the sacral chakra governs emotions, creativity, and pleasure. Located near your naval, it is also responsible for your reproductive organs and sexual drive or desire. Warrior pose focuses on opening the hips and chest in order to help unblock emotional, sexual or creative stagnancy. There are a number of warrior poses; these can be practiced in sequence to enhance the 2nd chakra further.

Solar Plexus

The solar plexus chakra relates to the self, harnessing individual power and determination. Plank pose helps to strengthen this chakra through focus and alignment of the body. Plank pose engages your core and musculature from head to toe. Confidence, emotional and self esteem issues may arise with a blocked 3rd chakra, plank pose helps you to build that confidence and to feel stronger within yourself.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is the portal to the higher chakras; it is motivated by love in its purest form. And it is perhaps one of the hardest things to do- to keep an open heart. Camel pose encourages opening of the heart. Through a backbend posture, it helps to improve spinal flexibility and opens up your chest- your heart space. This pose and other heart-opening poses such as upward dog, cobra pose, and bridge pose all help to release painful emotions or boost joyful ones.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra enables you to communicate, express yourself and speak your truth. Again, as with the heart, it is sometimes very difficult to communicate and express yourself. And yet, it was one of the first things you learned as a child- to talk! Bridge pose has varying advancements, it aims to rejuvenate and energise you. More progressed bridge poses can be tried once the modified versions are accomplished. Bridge pose lifts your chest and throat area to encourage flow and expression.

Third-eye Chakra

The third eye chakra relates to self awareness, spirituality and intuition. It enables you to see beyond the physical and so it is chiefly responsible for insight and a link to divinity. Tree pose is perfect for this chakra as it demonstrates that connection with nature, spirituality and wisdom. Tree pose lifts you toward the sky, to the higher realms- even more so if you extend your arms up through the pose. As well as lifting you, it also grounds you, “as above, so below”.

Crown Chakra

The 7th major chakra is the crown chakra. The crown chakra relates to higher consciousness, cosmic awareness, peace of mind and enhanced spiritual connection. It is beyond the self. Located at the top of the head, the main pose to balance or enhance this chakra is the corpse pose. It almost looks like a total surrender as you lie on your back almost in a dream-like state. The seated lotus pose and headstand can also help to stimulate the crown chakra.

And there you have it, I hope that you have found the Chakra articles helpful for your wellbeing and personal growth. Both yoga and meditation can work wonders on your chakras, embrace them as fully as you can! Here is a beautiful quote by Amit Ray to close this article:

“Through systematic meditation one can awaken the third eye and touch the cosmic awareness. Sushumna nadi is the subtle pathway in the spinal cord which passes through the main psychic centers. The awakening of these centers means a gradual expansion of awareness, until it reaches the cosmic awareness. Each center has its own beauty and gracefulness. Through generations of ignorance and unconsciousness, this channel of awareness becomes obscured and hidden. Meditation is to become aware about this internal life energy. Meditation is the procedure to rearrange, harmonize, activate, and integrate the individual life energy with the cosmic life energy.”  Amit Ray

chakras part 3

Categorised as: Chakras