The Space 2 Be
Email Us

Online Yoga, Pilates
& Meditation

Introduction to the Seven Chakras – Part 2

Firstly, if you missed Part 1 of this introductory series on the seven chakras, you can read it here!

In part 1, we learned what the chakras are, where they are located, and how they may affect us if they are blocked or weakened. Here, in part 2, we will go a touch deeper into the chakras (mainly Root Chakra) and how they link together for balance and harmony- physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

You can try out some affirmations that may help to boost the energy of the chakras, but essentially it is the somewhat messy “inner work” that is needed to truly heal. Inner work may involve delving into deep emotions, finding ways to express yourself with truth and integrity at heart, and moving past any emotional wounds that have built up over time. This is not plain sailing; it takes true grit and bravery to heal. Be gentle and compassionate with yourself!

Chain Reaction

It is no accident that the seven chakras run from the base of the spine to the crown of your head. Symbolically, the chakras are energy points that can help you utilise their purpose and power to live a full, contented, and harmonious existence from the ground up. From the 1st Chakra (root chakra) that represents your ability to feel safe and grounded to the 7th Chakra (crown chakra) that connects you to your spiritual and altruistic potential. Mid -way between lies the 4th Chakra (Heart Chakra). Through its heightened power, it acts as a bridge between the lower 3 chakras (those that govern earthly matters) and the upper 3 (those that rule spiritual matters). The heart bonds: it is effectively the centre of everything. It is the heart chakra that elevates us far and beyond the physical through the purest essence of love.

“When you touch the celestial in your heart, you will realize that the beauty of your soul is so pure, so vast and so devastating that you have no option but to merge with it. You have no option but to feel the rhythm of the universe in the rhythm of your heart” – Amit Ray

The Root Chakra (also known as Muladhara in Sanskrit)

You may ask “is there a particular chakra that is more important that the others?”. Generally speaking- the answer would be No. The chakras work actively together to broaden and boost your fundamental essence and life potential. They work like a chain, so if there is a blockage or kink in that chain then it will impact the connectivity and balance of the other chakras.

From another perspective, being the 1st chakra, if the root chakra is blocked or weakened then it can cause many issues. Here are some questions to ponder in relation to the Root Chakra:

  • If you don’t feel safe, supported, grounded, or connected to your earthly existence then how can you achieve your goals and desires?
  • How can you build and nurture loving relationships if you do not feel safe, loved and nurtured within yourself?
  • How can you feel confident to move through life passionately and purposefully if you feel fearful, anxious, or have not dealt with past traumas or heartbreak?
  • If you cannot trust yourself, how can you trust others?

The Root Chakra is symbolised by the colour red for a few reasons. Red draws our eyes attention. It stimulates energy and alerts us to danger. Think of it as the “stop” or warning sign that demands your focus to look closely at your foundations. Remember, it is the strength of your foundations that you will build everything else upon. The Root Chakra is your survival instinct, the basis of your existence. Essentially, the Root Chakra is the 1st Chakra to work on healing and strengthening in order to mobilise, nurture and nourish your potential.

It is important to note, as the Root Chakra is strongly linked to karmic cycles, it is extremely common for many (if not all of us) to experience challenges, tensions, and imbalances within it. Taking responsibility for how you heal helps to empower your Root Chakra.

Here are some things that can assist in healing and strengthening your Root Chakra.

  • The Root Chakra is a highly physical one. Remember it is located at the base of your spine and your spine governs your ability to walk, move and be mobile. Taking part in physical activity that helps to strengthen your musculature is highly important. Activities such as walking outdoors or gardening can help to reinforce grounding energy toward your Root Chakra. Yoga can also prove highly beneficial as it improves your spinal flexibility, strengthens your core muscles, helps you to focus on your breath and it can nurture your relationship to self.
  • Check your surroundings. This could mean your home, your place of work, or any environment that you spend reasonable amounts of time in. ask yourself if you feel safe, secure and supported in that environment. If the answer is no, this is a key area to work on. The root chakra is inherently linked to our sense of safety. If this is weakened then you will struggle to feel grounded and this deeply affects the root chakra.
  • The root chakra is impeded through a mindset of lack or of not having what you need around you. If you continuously focus on what is lacking in your life then you will subconsciously keep yourself stuck there- in what you do not have. Whatever is missing or lacking from your life, make a conscious effort to bring yourself back to what you do have. For instance, if you are struggling financially but have other riches such as a supportive partnership, friends that care for you, a job that you enjoy, consider these your treasures and nurture them. This will heighten your sense of self confidence, empower you to take greater responsibility for meeting your basic needs and move you away from limiting beliefs.

Essentially, spending some much needed time in self reflection helps you to pay attention to the warning signs of a weakened root chakra. Ultimately, it is something that we all need to work on in order to move forward and expand our reaches into enhancing the qualities of the higher chakras.

“Tis in ourselves that we are thus or thus. Our bodies are our gardens to which our wills are gardeners” – William Shakespeare

This brings part 2 of Introduction to Chakra’s to a close! Watch out for part 3 to find out more on the connection between the chakras and Yoga poses!

Categorised as: Chakras