The Space 2 Be
Email Us

Online Yoga, Pilates
& Meditation

Introduction to the Seven Chakras – Part 1

Introduction to the Seven Chakras

If you are a seasoned yogi or simply a spiritually minded person, Chakra is a word you may have stumbled upon many times. And even if you are not so clear on Chakras and what they mean – then stay tuned!

Over the next few months this initial article will be built upon and you will hopefully have a far better understanding and appreciation of the Chakras and how they can affect you mentally, physically, and emotionally. Chakras are spoken of and referenced in Hinduism and Buddhism in particular, and in recent times awareness has grown mainstream.

So what exactly are “Chakra’s”?

The word “Chakra” actually translates into the Sanskrit word for “cycle”, “wheel” or “spiral”. The chakras are powerful, life-giving energy points that are located throughout your body. Think of them as orbs or spinning wheels of energy that connect you to your subtle, psychic or spiritual inner world.

These Chakras meet, flow and connect with each other for strength, harmony, and alignment. The human body is a vast and intelligent system of connection; the Chakra’s are one way to tap into that divine wisdom for improved health, well being, and personal growth. There are many Chakra’s that run through your body; however, 7 in particular are considered the major or more purposeful Chakra’s. For instance, they can impact and influence how we engage, respond, react, create, communicate, and attract.


You may have heard the term or phrase “Align your Chakras” or “Your Chakras are blocked”… this essentially means that your body is out of balance and this is not uncommon for us as human beings. As you begin working to clear your chakras, you will inevitably feel better within yourself. Affirmations, exercise and some alternative therapies can assist in clearing or cleansing stagnant energy or unblocking your Chakras.

Chakras aid to bring you back in alignment with who you quintessentially are at a soulful and spiritual level. As you proceed to become increasingly aware of your body at this attunement, the benefits inevitably extend to your physical world. Essentially, aligning your chakras encourages movement and flow of energy.

The 1st to the 7th Chakras are located from the base of your spine to the top of your head. Here is a brief overview of each!

1st Chakra: Root Chakra

Associated colour: Red
Location: Base of spine

The root chakra relates to stability, strength, the ability to build foundations, and feel safe as you journey through life. It represents your innate survival instinct and ability to find grounding and nurture yourself. Signs of a blocked root chakra could include: feeling insecure, angry, frustrated, unable to cope or meet challenges, or being overly focused on material things.

2nd Chakra: Sacral Chakra

Associated colour: Orange
Location: Lower abdomen (just below the navel)

The Sacral Chakra relates to your well being, sexuality, emotions, passions, desires, and how you nourish and nurture relationships. It represents your creative centre, emotional body and what brings you pleasure. A blocked or weak sacral chakra could manifest as a lack of drive, motivation, creativity and sexual appetite. From an emotional perspective it can leave you feeling unloved, unaccepted, and emotionally confused or lost. You may repeat negative cycles in terms of your relationships.

3rd Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

Associated Colour: Yellow
Location: Upper Abdomen

The Solar Plexus Chakra relates to your confidence, self worth, and your ability to progress and achieve your goals. It is known as the “self power” Chakra. A blocked or under-active solar plexus chakra may show as a lack of self confidence and low self-value. It may lead to nervousness, anxiety, worry and emotional issues.

4th Chakra: Heart Chakra

Associated Colour: Green
Location: Centre of the chest, just above the heart

The heart chakra defines our openness and ability to give and receive love. The heart chakra connects your lower and upper chakras, much like a bridge or gateway between two realms (the earthly and the spiritual). The heart chakra expands and is motivated through love. Signs of a weakened heart chakra may include: an inability to trust others, feeling unable to express your emotions and feelings of love, holding on to grudges and feeling unable to forgive, and dwelling on stagnant emotions.

5th Chakra: Throat Chakra

Associated Colour: Blue
Location: Throat

The throat chakra represents the ability to communicate clearly, honestly and to speak your truth. Think of the throat chakra as the voice of your body. If it is blocked, you may experience difficulty expressing your thoughts, values, beliefs, and feelings. Feeling unable to support your truth, speak your mind and express yourself can deeply affect and imbalance your chakras overall.

6th Chakra: Third Eye Chakra

Associated Colour: Indigo
Location: Forehead, between the eyes/brows

The third eye chakra relates to our other worldly wisdom. It represents our ability to look for and see the bigger picture that extends beyond the physical eye. It connects us to our inner wisdom, intelligence and to be guided by our intuition. A blocked third eye chakra may result in a lack of faith, direction or purpose. This may cause emotional or physical distress, a feeling of being stuck, feeling low and not being able to trust your intuition. It may prompt you to feel more fearful of what is ahead.

7th Chakra: Crown Chakra

Associated Colour: Violet
Location: Crown, at the very top of the head

The Crown chakra relates to higher consciousness, the spiritual body and heightened awareness. Think of the crown chakra as your connection to the world or the universe at large. The crown chakra reflects or disperses life force energy to the other 6 major chakras. It is a connection or a gateway to your higher self. A weak crown chakra may manifest as feeling disconnected, lonely, and feeling like there is no meaning to life. A blocked crown chakra can leave you feeling disconnected from your spiritual body.

Have you found this a useful read? Hope so! Please share to a friend and watch out for Part 2 on the Chakras coming soon!

“Learning too soon our limitations, we never learn our powers” Mignon McLaughlin

Categorised as: Chakras